cruel summer

Like most of the rest of the county, K.C. is under a spell of sweltering, humid dead-of-summer heat. I saw something on the news this morning how some guy got 2nd degree burns on his feet from running somewhere outside in his bare feet. Could totally believe a story like that, especially after this weekend. It was so uncomfortable.

A few photos from the weekend:

my family's typical portrait, post-drink, pre-dinner

birthday boy

jon / my sis / her friend / andy having a drunky good time

me + mike šŸ™‚

breathe, laura, BREATHE

The major thing that happened was my big bro Gavin turned 30. THIRTY. I still can’t believe it! It feels like we were in high school yesterday. We had a family dinner here on Friday night, and he threw a rightful shindig on top of a loft building downtown on Saturday night. He’s got SO many friends; very impressive. I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to top that.

I’m also in unofficial training for my next 1/2 marathon this October. It’s just damn near impossible to run outside. I tried last night around 5:30 and it was a simple 4-miler. I got to mile 3 and couldn’t breathe. There was sweat getting in my eyes and making them burn and the longer I ran, the dizzier I felt. Needless to say, I walked home.

Leave a Reply

