carnivore at heart, vegetarian by proxy

I’ve been eating lots of vegetarian dishes lately, which started as a cost-saving measure, and has sort of taken on a life of its own. One might think it has something to do with a recent viewing of this movie (everyone should see it!!), along with the yummy recipes I’ve been finding online (great ones found on JenLovesKev). If you scroll below,  two of my recent favorite meals were veg, and good enough for the first round of recipe posters.*

* Speaking of which, I’ve gotten a few people saying they’d love those for their kitchen. For reals, if you give me a good photo and the recipe, I will be happy to make one / couple for you.

Anyway. I grew up absolutely hating vegetables, but I think it’s true what they say – veggies get less offensive as you get older. Still totally nasty and awful? Brussel Sprouts, Cabbage and cauliflower. UGH x FOREVER. Broccoli is also borderline.

My new favorites include squash, sweet potato, edamame, and zucchini (which is so good when you roast it!) Also, black beans are the new staple in my kitchen. There’s loads of great recipes out there for veggie dishes that don’t taste like something your mother would have to force you to eat.

Starting with: Squash and White Bean Soup With Parmesan Biscuits

mmmmmmmmm. no really!

Serves 4 Hands-On Time: 25m Total Time: 35m

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces (4 cups)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 2 15-ounce cans cannellini beans, rinsed
  • 1 bunch spinach, thick stems removed (4 cups)
  • biscuit mix and ingredients to make 8 biscuits
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan (1 ounce)
  • Meanwhile, prepare the biscuits according to the package directions, sprinkling with the Parmesan before baking. Serve with the soup.
  • Directions

    1. Heat the oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring often, until soft, 5 to 6 minutes. Add the tomatoes and their juices and cook, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes.
    2. Stir in the squash, thyme, 5 cups water, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until the squash is tender, about 15 minutes. Stir in the beans and spinach and cook until the spinach is wilted and the beans are heated through, 2 to 3 minutes.

    This is by no means me declaring myself a vegetarian. I will devour a Blanc turkey burger without even chewing and I REALLY MISS EATING CHICKEN. But, however, I’m very pleased that it hasn’t been too horrifying of a temporary transition; quite delicious actually!

    2 thoughts on “carnivore at heart, vegetarian by proxy

    1. My friend Laura….the health nut. I can’t believe how much you have changed since I first met you. Now you are a marathon runner and a healthy eater. Where does this motivation come from? I need to get me some 🙂 I still need to make some of those veggie burritos. By the way, that recipe above looks like one Kelsey would be drooling over too.

    2. Kelsey gave me the recipe! I am chomping at the bit to try it. And I’m not all health nut now – I still really, really like beer and gourmet burgers and I only ran a half marathon 😉

    Leave a Reply

    