TEN WHOLE DAMN MILES

So I did my first 10 miler yesterday! It was a total coaster ride of feeling totally good and fine and energized, and then awful and exhausted and my legs wanting to give out under me.  But Meagan and I did it, and it was tough. However, my nerves about the race aren’t nearly as bad anymore. I know what I have up against me, when to pace myself, when to make up time and run a bit faster, and the exact course so I don’t end up turning right instead of left and ending up being forced to do a marathon. I still have fears of what will happen in the last 3 miles – I felt like the Tin Man at mile 10, with my joints creaking and my legs feeling like they’re made out of jelly. And it’s not exactly the best part of town, so I’ll have to pack heat when I do a practice run over there this week.

A few pics from the run.

Euphoria after running the whole entire AWFUL Kessler hill.

Euphoria after running the whole entire AWFUL Kessler hill.

in pain. almost there!

in pain. almost there!

finished! funny walking starts... now

finished! funny walking starts... now

So I’ve got another 10-miler I need to do before the race, and I’ve now got the confidence in myself that I CAN do this, which is so unbelievable. 6 months ago? Never ever EVER.

Leave a Reply

